Naked With Army Boots

Key West sunset

Key West sunset

We just returned from a mini vacation in Key West, land of t-shirts, shorts & flip-flops, where fashion does not matter and anything goes. If you were to walk down Duval Street naked with Army boots, no-one would notice. Not that I tried this. I must have read this somewhere.

crazy Key West fashionAs I was packing for our trip, I thought what better place for a test drive of my new, black, metal leg braces for all to see. However, after checking out the view (me in shorts with my very noticeable leg braces) in my closet door mirror, I rushed out and bought a long, casual summer dress. Just in case, so I would be comfortable dining someplace nice. I still planned on wearing shorts with my leg braces to keep cool, while walking around town.

It’s amazing how we all start out as carefree children, but while in school we learn to become self-conscious, worrying about what other people think of us. Many of us outgrow this. I remember reading somewhere that once you hit 50, you would feel free to dress comfortably with no makeup and hair uncombed, and not give a hoot about what other people think of you. Now, that I’ve reached the double nickel (as my husband likes to remind me daily) I’m waiting for this carefree attitude to overtake me. Instead as I jam my leg braces into my extra wide sneakers, then try to maneuver my feet in using a long shoe horn, I’m thinking about how uncomfortable I will feel, noticing people staring at my legs.  Thwarted by my hammer toe, I struggle to remove my sneakers and try again. Some mornings I give up and just stomp on my toe to straighten it out. Good thing I’ve lost a bit of feeling in my feet.

Some days, zipping and snapping my shorts can take almost as long. Not because I’m overweight, but because my hands don’t work. OK, maybe I’m a little bit chubbier now, after enjoying that dark chocolate covered key lime pie on a stick.

Key Lime Pie on- a- stick

Key Lime Pie on- a- stick

Perhaps those happy hour margaritas, and rum runners on the beach, along with mojitos and Key lime shooters at Hogs Breath bar, may have added a few pounds too. But I’m still blaming it on my CMT weakened hands.

Key Lime Colada

Key Lime Colada

Anyhow, as we strolled down Duval street in Key West toward the sunset party, I did notice a few people, who I thought were looking at my braces. But now, looking at these pictures, I’m thinking maybe they were just checking out my silly hat.

Key West statue_0117

New items available at the CMTA Zazzle store with the new CMT ribbon to raise money for CMT!

CMTA items raise funds for CMT

Start at iGive.com for free & raise more for CMT!  The customized joinLink for Charcot-Marie-Tooth Association (CMTA) is: http://www.iGive.com/charcot-marie
Then click on link to Zazzle from iGive page and choose your t-shirt.

Or find the cmta store to see all of the items available here:http://www.zazzle.com/cmtaatzazzle*

This entry was posted in AFO, Charcot-Marie-Tooth disease, CMT, Health CMT, leg braces, neuromuscular disease, peripheral neuropathy and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Naked With Army Boots

  1. cmtny says:

    Great! Thanks!! More people will now know what CMT is.Thanks for spreading the word.

    Like

  2. Kathie Barczak says:

    I enjoyed reading your article and love the pictures of your trip. You’re a very entertaining writer and your article helps people understand. It’s a good lesson for all of us to remember what is really important. Thank you for sharing with us information about CMT. Many people have no idea this disease even exists. The more people know the more we will understand. Thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

