Supporting the CMTA {Buffalo Photography}

by Katie Ingraham

Charcot-Marie-Tooth, or CMT, is the most commonly inherited peripheral neuropathy and is found worldwide among all races and ethnic groups. And it is found very prevelantly in my family. My Grandma and her three brothers were all diagnose with CMT and it has been passed down to the next generations. In our family, we have an interesting inheritance pattern where the first born children do not have CMT and are not carriers but each subsequent child born after has it. But whether someone in our family actually has CMT or not, we are all trying to fight it every day. To understand more about CMT, please visit the Charcot-Marie-Tooth Association website.

September is CMT awareness month. I will be doing a fundraiser for CMT STAR (Strategy To Excelerate Research) through my photography. 50% of all portrait session fees and 100% of product sales will be donated to CMT STAR. CMT STAR has been working tirelessly to find a cure for CMT and my goal is to raise $1000 to donate to the cause. Is it a lofty goal, yes, but if it means a future without CMT, it’s worth it.

I would love for you to join in my fight against CMT. September is the perfect time for photos as fall begins and we look toward Christmas (and Christmas cards!). This month will be dedicated to the Morris family, so if I get to see you in September, feel free to ask me more about them. My family members are amazing people who inspire me every day to fight through any and all obstacles to live the life that you want. I will be blogging more about them, and CMT, in September so I hope you will come and back to read more. Contact me today to set up a session and help me reach my goal!

Resources: http://blog.ilcavallophotography.com/

CMTA Shop Zazzle

 

About cmtny

Due to symptoms of Charcot-Marie-Tooth (CMT) neuromuscular disorder, I left my career as a pharmacist. Then, with the support of the CMTA, founded the Upstate NY CMT support and action group. I write to raise awareness of this genetic peripheral neuropathy. In addition to writing and advocating for others with CMT, I also co-coordinate our Art de Cure gallery at CPO, where we have raised over $21,000 for CMT research so far.
This entry was posted in Charcot-Marie-Tooth disease, Health CMT, neuromuscular disease, peripheral neuropathy and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Supporting the CMTA {Buffalo Photography}

  1. Pingback: Upstate NY CMT exhibit at The American Pain Foundation community event | Living Well with CMT (Charcot-Marie-Tooth)

Leave a Reply

